Home   »  Learn About Sea Turtles  »  Teacher's Circle  »  Educational Materials  »  Seven Species of Sea Turtles

Seven Species of Sea Turtles

The Sea Turtle Restoration Project works to protect and restore endangered sea turtles and marine biodiversity worldwide. We are engaging and empowering the public to promote sustainable local and national policies that stop harmful fishing practices, nesting beach development, ocean pollution and climate change that impacts sea turtles and other endangered marine wildlife.

Please click on HELP SAVE THE SEA TURTLES (right) to find out ways you can help, and DONATE NOW to support our work!

All 7 Species
A summary fact sheet about all 7 species of sea turtles

Leatherback Sea Turtle
Dermochelys coriacea is the largest, deepest diving sea turtle, and is critically endangered.

Hawksbill Sea Turtle
Eretmochelys imbricata is critically endangered and relies on sensitive coral reef habitats.

Loggerhead Sea Turtle
Caretta caretta populations are declining across its range. Pacific loggerheads were recently listed as endangered in the U.S.

Green Sea Turtle
Chelonia mydas is most endangered in Florida and Mexico's Pacific Ocean beaches.

Olive Ridley Sea Turtle
Lepidochelys olivacea arrive in huge groups to nest all at once and are endangered on Mexico's Pacific Coast.

Kemp's Ridley Sea Turtle
Lepidochelys kempii are endangered, are the smallest of the sea turtles, and nest during the day.

Flatback Sea Turtle
Natator depressus nests only in northern Australia.

Sea Turtle Restoration Project • PO Box 370 • Forest Knolls, CA 94933, USA
Phone: +1 415 663 8590 • Fax: +1 415 663 9534 • info@seaturtles.org
» powered by radicalDESIGNS